WICHITA, KS – This afternoon, the Wichita Thunder announced their 20-man season-ending roster; comprised of 13 forwards, six defensemen and a goaltender.

It should be noted, those players who were property of the Ottawa Senators organization and played in Wichita this season; Scott GreenhamChris LeBlancRyan RupertMacoy ErkampsAlex KrushelnyskiGabriel GagneVincent Dunn; and Chris Rumble, were left off the season-ending roster.

Also of note, the four players acquired in the future considerations trades; Dyson StevensonMatthew BrownTyler Currier and Travis Zajac, were added to the roster.

Here is the full roster:

Forwards: Zach O’Brien, David Friedmann, Ryan Tesink, Blake Tatchell, Gerrad Grant, Louick Marcotte, Matt DeBlouw, Vincent Arseneau, Matthew Brown, Dyson Stevenson, Tyler Currier, Jack Rodewald, and Alexis Loiseau

Defensemen: Jamie Doornbosch, Randy Cure, Jeremy Beaudry, Nolan Zajac, Alexis Vanier, and James Melindy

Goalies: Drew Owsley

Now, head coach Malcolm Cameron must decide which eight players on this list will receive qualifying offers. That list is due into the league office by 11:59 pm ET on June 30. This is the list fans will want to pay attention to the most, as this will give you some indication of who may be back or who a team might try to use as a trade piece. With this deadline, teams can qualify up to eight players, and no more than four can be veterans (260 regular season professional hockey games played as of the start of the 2017-18 season). The offer the players receive must be five percent higher than what the player made last season. The other piece that is important to realize here is that if a player is already signed, they will likely not be on this list (Matt DeBlouw.)

The qualifying offer must remain open for acceptance until August 1, at which time the qualifying offer becomes null and void and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extend a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season.

A team that extends a valid qualifying offer to a veteran player, or to a goaltender who has played more than 180 regular-season games, will retain the rights to that player until August 1.

After that date, if the veteran player or goaltender is not signed to a contract by the team, the veteran or goaltender shall be deemed a restricted free agent and can talk with other teams and secure offers of employment from other ECHL teams. Restricted free agents can not be traded. Additionally, the team with the player’s rights has seven days after the date it is notified to match the contract offer if they want.

If a restricted free agent is not signed to either an offer sheet or a contract by an ECHL team by August 31, the player will become an unrestricted free agent.

The Wichita Thunder will announce their new primary NHL affiliate at a news conference at 3 pm Tuesday.

Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do! https://www.patreon.com/thesinbinhockey