LAFAYETTE, LA – Today, we announced the finalists for our second annual SPHL All-Star Team. Sixty players – three forwards, two defensemen, and a goaltender – were selected from all ten of the league’s teams. Last season, the first annual All-Star Team was selected in a fantasy exhibition Against the FHL’s best in a game to decide Single-A hockey supremacy.

This season’s All-Star squad will be selected on January 26th, 2017 and will feature NHL-like rosters of 12 forwards, six defensemen, and three goaltenders. SPHL fans will have a voice in the team’s roster with the debut of fan voting. Beginning at 12 pm CT on January 3rd, polling will open on our website until 6 pm CT on January 17th. Fans will be able to vote once per day for their favorite or most deserving players. The forward, defenseman, and goaltender with the highest vote totals will be named to this year’s team. “We had a lot of fun with this last year. It generated a ton of fan interest, so it made sense to us to let the SPHL fans get involved in the process,” said SPHL Editor Mike Campos.

The Sin Bin’s SPHL writers – Mike Finazzo, James Gentry, and Dawne Walters – will compile this season’s team with Managing Editor Matthew Harding. Additionally, The Sin Bin will reach out across the league for additional feedback. “We’re going to get plenty of input for this season’s team and reach out across the league for input,” continued Campos. Next month, questionnaires will be sent out to representatives for all ten SPHL teams and select media members.

The All-Star finalists will be announced on Twitter and Facebook on December 29th and 30th, and are listed as follows:

Columbus Cottonmouths
F – Andy Bathgate, Keegan Bruce, Derek Gingera
D – Spencer Galbraith, Cody Castro
G – Brandon Jaeger

Evansville Thunderbolts
F – Josh Harris, Justin MacDonald, Dave Williams
D – Brad Bourke, Josh Elmes
G – Tanner Milliron

Fayetteville FireAntz
F – Jake Hauswirth, Chris Porter, Tayler Thompson
D – Sean Robertson, Kyle Shapiro
G – Sean Bonar

Huntsville Havoc
F – Lou Educate, Dylan Nowakowski, Sy Nutkevitch
D – Zach Carriveau, Stuart Stefan
G – Tyler Steel

Knoxville Ice Bears
F – Danny Cesarz, Jake Rivera, Berkley Scott
D – Brad Pawlowski, Jason Price
G – Brian Billett

Macon Mayhem
F – Collin MacDonald, Dennis Sicard, John Siemer
D – Daniel Echeverri, Nick Grasso
G – Jordan Ruby

Mississippi RiverKings
F – Cullen Bradshaw, Ryan Marcuz, Mike Moran
D – Mike Grace, Joe Sova
G – Brad Barone*
* Edit: Brad Barone replaces Peter Di Salvo as a result of Di Salvo’s call-up to ECHL Wichita.

Pensacola Ice Flyers
F – Louis Belisle, Austin McKay, Riley Spraggs
D – Brandon Blair, Myles McCauley
G – Matt Zenzola

Peoria Rivermen
F – Dan Bremner, Cody Dion, Dakota Klecha
D – Don Olivieri, Ben Oskroba
G – Tyler Green

Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs
F – Jackson Brewer, Tyler Gjurich, Massimo Lamacchia
D – Travis Armstrong, Nick Schneider
G – Ryan de Melo

Stay tuned to The Sin Bin as we launch our fan voting page and announce the 2016-17 SPHL All-Star Team!

Follow Our SPHL Team on Social Media

Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!