LAFAYETTE, LA — For the third year, The Sin Bin is proud to announce their SPHL All Star Team for 2018. Unlike the last two years, which the SPHL team was crafted to take on a fictional FHL All Star Team for an exhibition game, this season splits the league into northern and southern divisions for an intraleague three-on-three match.

Twenty-two players – twelve skaters, six defensemen, and four goaltenders – and two coaches were selected to this year’s squads. Four of the players – two forwards and two defensemen – were picked through a record-setting fan vote.

The highly competitive fan voting totaled an unbelievable 448,617 votes for 60 finalists, sparking some controversy as to possible automated voting. After discussions with many participants and within our own website staff, we are confident in the legitimacy of the voting results. Modern browser technology gives people the ability to cast votes with never-before-seen speed and efficiency. We at The Sin Bin are thankful for all of the SPHL fans – the best and most passionate fans in all of pro hockey – for their countless hours of casting votes for their favorite players.

This year’s All Star Team features seven two-time selections, including Macon Mayhem defenseman Daniel Echeverri – the only two-time fan vote winner. The other fan selections are Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs forward Riley Spraggs, Fayetteville Marksmen defender Brad Campagna, and Birmingham Bulls forward Nate Mitton. The teams will be helmed by a pair of newcomers. Pensacola Ice Flyers coach Jeff Bes leads the south team, while Evansville Thunderbolts boss Jeff Pyle is behind the north bench. The Ice Flyers, Huntsville Havoc, Macon Mayhem, and Peoria Rivermen each have three players in this year’s fictional midseason classic.

The look and feel of this year’s project were inspired by our “Host City” of Roanoke, Virginia. All of the graphics created during this year’s All Star season was in Rail Yard Dawgs colors and design elements from the “Star City.”

The Sin Bin 2018 SPHL All Star Team Rosters

 # Player Team # Player Team
4 Michael Chen – D Knoxville 8 Nate Mitton – F Birmingham
5 Dave Pszenyczny – D Peoria 10 Daniel Echeverri – D Macon
9 Berkley Scott – F Knoxville 10 Nolan Kaiser – D Huntsville
11 Steve Mele – F Roanoke 10 Devin Mantha – F Mississippi
17 Alec Hagaman – F Peoria 18 Jessyko Bernard – F Pensacola
19 Jake Hauswirth – F Fayetteville 19 Sy Nutkevitch – F Huntsville
24 Dylan Clarke – F Evansville 29 Jake Trask – F Macon
26 Riley Spraggs – F Roanoke 30 Greg Dodds – G Macon
30 Eric Levine – G Peoria 35 Gordon Defiel – G Pensacola
39 Tomas Sholl – G Evansville 55 Kyle Haines – D Pensacola
44 Brad Campagna – D Fayetteville 58 Christian Powers – F Huntsville
HC Jeff Pyle Evansville HC Jeff Bes Pensacola


Previous All Star Teams


Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!