INDEPENDENCE, MO – The Missouri Mavericks have long prided themselves as being “Kansas City’s hockey team,” but beginning in June, they will prove it. 

Tonight at their annual “Mac Awards”, the Missouri Mavericks announced that they will change their franchise name to the Kansas City Mavericks beginning June 1, 2017.  The team will retain the Missouri Mavericks name for the rest of the ECHL calendar year. 

The new name of the Mavericks was unveiled Saturday night. Image courtesy: Ray Schmitt/Missouri Mavericks

Mavericks team president, Brent Thiessen, highlighted that 78% of Mavericks season ticket holders come from Kansas City, on both the Kansas and Missouri side, and the Mavericks have been looking for a way to be more inclusive of all of their fanbase and their pillar corporate partners.
In addition, the organization also wants to bring together their youth hockey teams under a banner that is inclusive of teams from both sides of the state line and give the organization a better sense of identity for fans across the country that may be unfamiliar with where the Mavericks are located.
Rumors have floated throughout the season in regards to the future of the Mavericks franchise, but Thiessen reiterated the team’s commitment to the Silverstein Eye Centers Arena, the city of Independence, and the ECHL. The Mavericks will enter their ninth season of hockey in Kansas City next season; their fourth in the ECHL.

Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!