On this episode of the In The Corners Podcast with C.C. Hawkley…Wichita Thunder broadcaster Jason Mals joins the show! We are heading towards the final few weeks of the 2018-19 ECHL regular season, and the playoff picture is starting to get a little clearer!

BIN BANTER

Jason is tired from a side duty, driving from Kansas City to Allen to Wichita…

Former Idaho color commentator John Mulhern IV chimes in to ask about Penn State hockey and their appearance in the Big Ten Championship Game (both John and Jason are PSU alums)…

HOME COOKIN’

Wichita (Jason)
  • What will it take for Wichita to make the postseason? (Hint: A lot of help from Kansas City!)
  • Why hasn’t the rivalry with KC been as fervent as with Tulsa and Allen?
  • Who have been the bright spots for the Thunder this year?
Idaho (C.C.)
  • Steelheads have clinched their record-setting 22nd consecutive playoff appearance
  • One blowout, one victory against Orlando…and a venue change to accommodate Travis Scott?
  • How far can Idaho go if they can get some key players back from the AHL?

CLOSING TIME

Jason talks about his relationship with his daughter taking priority over his broadcasting aspirations, the season calling games for the now-defunct Billings Bulls (NAHL), growing up in Pennsylvania & playing hockey for Penn State’s club team, and the four years spent away from the Thunder organization

Catch all Wichita Thunder games on Mixlr and The Sin Bin app! And follow Jason (@jmals24) and C.C. (@SinBinIdaho) on Twitter for all things Thunder and Steelheads!

PROGRAMMING NOTE: C.C. welcomes Cincinnati Cyclones broadcaster Everett Fitzhugh to the show on Monday, March 25! Join us at 6:30pm MT / 7:30pm CT / 8:30pm ET next week!