Image Courtesy of ECHL

The Idaho Steelheads and Dallas Stars announced that the two teams have renewed their affiliation for the 2015-16 season.

The Steelheads and Texas Stars of the American Hockey League will continue to serve as the primary development affiliates of the Dallas Stars.

This season will mark the 11th consecutive season – and 12th season in total – that the NHL’s Stars have been affiliated with the Steelheads, which makes it the third-longest continuous active affiliations in the ECHL. Wheeling (Pittsburgh, 1998) and Florida (Carolina, 1998) pre-date Idaho’s uninterrupted time with Dallas, which began in 2005.

“We are extremely pleased to renew our affiliation with the Steelheads,” said Director of Hockey Operations and Texas Stars General Manager Scott White. “Head Coach Brad Ralph has done a tremendous job in Idaho, as his success in developing young players has led to the winning culture we strive to uphold at all levels of the organization. We look forward to our continued partnership with the Steelheads.”

The Ralph-led Steelheads tied the organization’s ECHL-era record with 48 victories last season, winning the Pacific Division. The team has won two ECHL Kelly Cup championships and reached a third during its affiliation with the Stars organization.

Among the players to be assigned to Idaho via its affiliation with the NHL’s and AHL’s Stars are goaltenders Jack Campbell, Josh Robinson, Dan Ellis, Richard Bachman and Tyler Beskorowany; defensemen Ryan Button, Brendan Milnamow and Mike Dalhuisen and forwards Jesse Root, Austin Smith, Richard Clune, B.J. Crombeen, John Lammers, Zenon Konopka, Francis Wathier, Luke Gazdic and David Bararuk.

Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!