The Grand Rapids Griffins will have their third captain in three years after naming Matthew Ford the Captain for the 2017-2018 season.

Nathan Paetsch, who recently signed with the Rochester Americans, was the captain during last seasons Calder Cup run. Before Paetsch wore the “C”, Jeff Hoggan was the captain from 2012-2016. Hoggan retired this offseason.

Ford is entering his second season with the Griffins. He did not play with the Griffins last season until mid-November due to an injury. He had a solid season playing 51 games and collecting 35 points (14-21-35). He was an assistant captain last season.

Wearing the “A” once again for the Griffins are Ben Street and Brian Lashoff with Eric Tangradi being selected an assistant captain for the first time as a Griffin.

Street played 62 games last year for Grand Rapids and accumulated 55 points (25-30-55). He also played in six games for the Red Wings picking up an assist.

Brian Lashoff has been with the Red Wings organization since he was signed to an entry-level deal in 2008 after he went undrafted. He has played 122 career NHL games with Detroit. Last season, he appeared in 62 games with Grand Rapids and had 11 points (3-8-11).

Eric Tangradi enters his third season with the Griffins. In 54 games last season, he collected 44 points (17-27-44). He will begin the season on IR with a knee injury.

The Griffins will also add some more defensive depth as Ryan Sproul has cleared waivers and is expected to be added to the Griffins roster.

Grand Rapids will face off against the Manitoba Moose on Friday for the season opener.

Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!