PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL, in conjunction with the Indy Fuel, announced Thursday a brand new game format for the 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic, taking place at Indiana Farmers Coliseum on Monday, Jan. 15, 2018.

For the first time in ECHL history, the All-Star Classic will feature four teams, representing each of the league’s divisions. In a format similar to those adapted by the NHL and AHL All-Star Games, the four teams will compete in a 3-on-3 tournament in order to crown a winner.

The two semifinal matches will be played within the Eastern and Western Conferences; with the North Division taking on the South Division and the Central Division facing the Mountain Division. The 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Skills Competition will take place after the second semifinal game, with the championship round following immediately at the conclusion of the Skills Competition.

“The All-Star Classic is our annual opportunity to showcase the best the ECHL has to offer,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna.“Over the years, we have experimented with various formats, and we are confident this year’s 3-on-3 will be highly entertaining for the fans in Indy and our television audience.”

Each game will consist of two seven-minute stop time periods, with the two teams switching sides at the halfway point. Each team will be made up of seven players; four forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender. Players will be announced in January via a vote of ECHL coaching staffs.

Additional details regarding the 2018 CCM/ECHL Skills Competition will be announced at a later date.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here