The ECHL’s Annual Meetings was held at The Monte Carlo Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada last week.

Harris elected as Chairman of the Board

The Board of Governors unanimously elected Cincinnati Cyclones’ President Ray Harris as the new Chairman of the Board. Harris replaces Gwinnett’s Steve Chapman, who had served as Chairman since the 2006-07 season.

“Ray is an experienced and successful operator and a long-time member of our Board of Governors and Executive Committee,” ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna said. “We all value Ray’s leadership and direction and I look forward to working closely with him to continue to grow and strengthen the ECHL.”

Change to overtime/shootout format

The Board of Governors approved the following changes to the overtime and shootout format in the regular season.

Overtime will consist of five minutes of “sudden death” in a 3-on-3 format. If neither team scores during the overtime period, the game will proceed to a shootout. The number of shooters per team in the shootout has been reduced to three. After each team has taken three shots, if the score remains tied, the shootout will proceed to a “sudden death” format.

The “spin-o-rama” move has been eliminated from the shootout. Should a player score a goal in the shootout while making such a move, the goal will not be allowed.

Two referees for all Kelly Cup Playoff games

The Board of Governors has approved the use of two referees for all games during the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs. The two-referee system has been used during the Conference Finals and Kelly Cup Finals in each of the past three seasons.

Adjustment to end zone hash marks

The Board of Governors approved changing the distance of the hash marks on the end-zone faceoff circles to 5 feet, 7 inches.

All of the changes take effect next season.

In other news from the meetings, the ECHL announced Idaho Steelheads announcer Will Hoenike has won the 2014-15 ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award. The award was voted on by league media relations directors.

The other finalists were Nick Brunker of the Cincinnati Cyclones, Bob Mills of the Orlando Solar Bears, Matt Melzak of the Toledo Walleye and Rob Loeber of the Tulsa Oilers.

Hoenike was named the Steelheads Director of Media Relations in May 2009 after serving as the club’s Season Tickets Director for the prior two-and-half years. In January 2011, he added the responsibilities as the Voice of the Steelheads and was honored as the ECHL Media Relations Director of the Year following the 2010-11 season. Hoenike is a graduate of the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at Washington State University.


Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!