The ECHL announced on Tuesday that 14 on-ice officials, along with Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst and ECHL Officiating Development Coach Mike Pearce, will work the 2015 NHL Prospects Tournament in Traverse City, Mich. from Sept. 11-15.

Debuting in 1988 with four teams, the NHL Prospects Tournament has expanded to now include eight clubs – Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Minnesota Wild, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues.

Teams are divided into two divisions for a three-day round robin tournament, then ranked by their win-loss records for final placement in seventh, fifth, third and Championship games on the final day.

Ernst and Pearce will be responsible for the selection and scheduling of the officials for each game of the tournament, and will assist any playing or rule situation that takes place during the tournament. The officiating staff for the tournament includes eight referees and six linesmen.

“It will provide our officials excellent experience going into the season as these players are competing for roster spots with their respective NHL clubs. It also allows me and Mike to be able to spend time teaching our officials as well as spend time with them prior to our training camp and season which is invaluable,” Ernst said.

ECHL officials who will work during the Prospects Tournament include referees Kenny Anderson, Peter MacDougall, Mike Mullen, Tyler Puddifant, Mike Sheehan, Andy Thackaberry, Stephen Thomson and Jeremy Tufts as well as linesmen Ryan Daisy, Brent Hooks, Tyler Landman, Ryan Madsen, Shaun Morgan and Patrick Richardson.

Please consider becoming a Patron as a way to say thanks and support us for what we do!